Procedure Every year from October through April the panel of judges shall review and evaluate all works entered for the award. In March the panel of judges shall nominate the best works in each category and select a writer for the lifetime achievement award. In March/April the shortlist shall be published in the home pages of the organizers and in other media.
In April, the winners in each category are chosen by the experts and announced in an award ceremony which is annually arranged by the organizers together with supporters and executors of the award.


Works of 2013 are judged by:

literary critic and translator Ieva Kolmane;

poetess Anna Auziņa;

editor in chief of the portal Ilmārs Šlāpins;

writer Dace Rukšāne-Ščipčinska;

poet, head of the educational program "Literary Academy" Ronalds Briedis;

translator Ieva Lešinska-Geibere;

poet and translator Jānis Vādons;

literary scholar Raimonds Briedis;

literary critic and poet Arvis Viguls.